BISD Board Tackles Agenda

The regular scheduled School Board meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm by president Jack Helmcamp.

Those in attendance included Superintendent Lacy Freeman, Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Georgeanna Adams-Molina, Board Members Bobby Fishbeck, Monty McGill, Randy Ayres, and John Rodell.

Board Members absent were Bradley Ezell and Cole McVeay. A meeting quorum was established.

Principals Tina Rayborn, Greg Kennedy, and Corey Hickerson were in attendance to answer any board member questions and show their support.

Prayer was led by board member, Randy Ayres and pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas flags were voiced.

The Public forum section on the agenda had no individual or group presentations.

President Jack Helmcamp moved forward with the installation of board members Randy Ayres, Monty McGill, and John Rodell. Election of Board Officers for the upcoming year was next on the agenda and all members unanimously approved keeping the current officers in their positions.

Under Lacy Freeman?s superintendent related section the recognition of BISD students and their sponsors/ coaches livened up the meeting.

Ms. Melonie Menefee highlighted the UIL successes this year with all BISD campuses winning district championships in a crowded competitive environment. Several of our students progressed to Regionals and Tana Cleveland, Colby Menefee, Jose Sanchez, and Megan Wedhorn had additional successes at the State Level. UIL competition is not over for the spring/ summer ? our High School has an awesome group going to California at the end of June?..look for more success stories in the near future.

Girls Track coaches Daryl Skelton and Nicole Smith were up next to inform the group of this years? accomplishments and hard work by the team. Student / athletes A?sia Bradley, Rylee Reeves, and Samantha Simpson progressed from District, Area, and attained Regional qualifier status.

Boys Track coach Roger Masters highlighted this years? accomplishments by Jamaul Randle, Asa Henson, and Ethan Williams and expressed his positive anticipation of next years? results with the addition of the new Freshman class track team ? look out District competition ?..here they come.

Coach Chuck Carr praised his girls softball team for their strength and character in facing several obstacles this season and advancing to the playoffs ( 1st time since 2011). AD/ Coach Brandon Houston was also a major factor in their success and with the majority of the team back next year good things are ahead for Lady Bison softball.

The Bison District Champion Varsity and Junior Varsity baseball teams were presented by Coaches Clayton Ehlert and Pete Heintze. The Varsity finished 20-6-1 for the season and 11-1 in District. Coach Ehlert praised the Seniors for their leadership and informed the group of the academic skills of Tristan Best, Jarrett Fishbeck, Jacob Henigan, Jose Sanchez, and Chase Thompson. They were not only leaders on the diamond but leaders in the classroom ? they made the All - State Academic Baseball Team.

Jose Sanchez also achieved Elite All - State Academic Baseball team status - the Best of the Best.

Mr. Freeman completed his portion of the agenda by discussing BISD enrollment ( 958) and Transportation and Campus maintenance/ improvements.

Current Agenda items, Reports, and Administrative Recommendations were considered by the board , motions made, and unanimous approval given by board members present. They were as follows:

1. Meeting minutes, Monthly Tax Report, Financial / Investment Report

2. Vehicle Purchase

3. Resolution for Investment Policy Review ? CDA Policy (Extra Funds Usage)

4. Canine Search Contract ? New Company approved - KIDS (Streetman office)

5. Tax Collection Agency Contract ? Leon and Freestone Counties

6. Surplus Property Sale

7. Establish FCCLA Policies and Bylaws

At 6:40pm the regular meeting was adjourned and the Board entered into a Closed Session.

The regular meeting was back in session at 8:28 pm with the following recommendations / actions:

1. Approval of bus driver pay scale for 2019 ? 2010

2. Acceptance of the following resignations:

David Fuqua, Robin Fuqua, Amanda Fletcher, Margaret Grubbs, Judy Little, Nicole Smith

Special Recognition was given to the Retirement of Ms. Carolyn Ballard for her 39 years of excellent service to BISD. The entire group wishes her good health and good days of relaxation and retirement with Mr. Ballard.

With no further actions President Jack Helmcamp adjourned the meeting at 8:37 pm.