Changing of the Guard: 2018 – 2019 School Board Members Elected

BISD SCHOOL BOARD -- Secretary Bobby Fishbeck, Bradley Ezell, Superintendent Lacy Freeman, John Rodell, President Jack Helmcamp, Cole McVeay, Randy Ayres, Vice President Monty McGill.

After the recent School Board election, we were greeted with some new faces at the May 21, 2018 School Board Meeting. And sadly, some familiar faces were missing. Bradley Ezell and Cole McVey were sworn in as new Board Members. Jack Helmcamp was elected President, Monty McGill was elected Vice President, Bobby Fishbeck was elected Secretary and John Rodell was elected Alternate for the 2018 ? 2019 term.

Ms. Oldham announced that the Mathematics? team took district and regional in several categories including both team and individual competitions. Ms. Gleghorn reported the UIL results stating that several students competed in speech, debate and journalism. Several students advanced to regionals, with the speech team taking FIRST PLACE TEAM at regionals, which is a first for them! In journalism, the team took second place at regionals and Colby Menefee is advancing to State in Feature and Editorial. Overall, Buffalo High School took FIRST PLACE at the regional academic meet. State UIL competitions are still in progress and results will be announced at the June 2018 Board Meeting. In Journalism, Colby Menefee won 2nd place in Editorial Writing and is the State Champion in Feature Writing. In addition, his points earned him title of First-Place Journalism team in the state, single-handedly. One Act play cast and crew advanced to regionals this year missing qualifying for state by a slim margin. Several students were recognized for their accomplishments in FFA, FCCLA, Baseball, UIL, OAP, Track and Golf with several advancing to the second level this spring in Baseball, UIL and FFA. Congratulations to all for a job well done. GO BISON!

In general news, enrollment is down 9, down 25 since December, with current attendance at 927. It was cited that job transfers of parents as being the most probable cause. Transportation Director Mac McMullens? resigned to pursue other career interests. The safety renovation project is in full swing with the completion of the High School renovation, and the start-up of the Lower Junior High projectbeing considered with an estimated cost of $13,460. Renovation of the other two campuses is in consideration. It was announced that the funds borrowed to complete the Casey Trust Fund Ag Building has been replaced at $70K to the General Fund, $35K to the Transportation fund and $5,509 of the $30K borrowed from the CT fund, with repayment of the balance being addressed.

In closed session, it was determined that an offer of a temporary, 1-year probation option for the 2018-2019 term would be offered to Bethany Gaskins, Roger Masters, Maria Salazar. The board accepted the resignations of Anna Bailey, Lea Ann Cain, Kylyn Ferguson, Annette Garcia, Nan Grisham, Mac McMullen, Shannon Pickens, Robert Rubel, Brittany Sweeney and Reba Taylor. Three staff members will be retiring after many years of dedicated service, including Lana Belyeu, Donna Lewis and Tracy Gleghorn.

In closing, Superintendent Freeman expressed how pleased he is with the staff, faculty and students for a job well done, stating that the 2017 -2018 will close with major accomplishments.